top of page

The Cactus Blossoms Announce New Album "Every Time I Think About You," Out August 30

The Cactus Blossoms, the Minneapolis-based brother duo Jack Torrey and Page Burkum, are back with a brand new album, Every Time I Think About You, set to release on August 30 via their own Walkie Talkie Records. Their ten-track collection showcases the band's ability to navigate between rollicking rock tunes and delicate pop ballads, all while moving beyond the weight of past expectations and embracing a timeless, carefree sound.

In anticipation of the album, The Cactus Blossoms have released two new tracks this past week. The chooglin' heartbreak anthem "There She Goes" premiered SiriusXM's Outlaw Country, delivering a punch of raw emotion. The title track, "Every Time I Think About You," is a gentle gut-punch that captures the essence of the album's theme of moving on from loss and past burdens. Both tracks are available for streaming now at

Every Time I Think About You was recorded at Minneapolis' legendary Creation Audio, a studio with a rich history of iconic recording including The Trashmen's "Surfin' Bird" and The Replacements' Tim. The Cactus Bottoms teamed up once again with engineer/mixer Alex Hall (JD McPherson, Nick Lowe) for what is described as their most commanding full-band sessions to date. The album features a range of sounds from the T. Rex strut of "Keep Walkin'" to the introspective "Is It Any Wonder," embodying a spirit of itinerant exploration.

"Even if you don’t set out to write songs with a theme in mind, one tends to present itself," says Jack Torrey. "This record keeps returning to the idea of ‘moving on’ — from one place to another, from people and situations that bring you down, from loss and grief.” This underlying theme of transition and growth permeates the album, making it a poignant listen for anyone who has experienced similar life changes.

To support the release of Every Time I Think About You, The Cactus Blossoms will embark on a North American tour this fall. The tour kicks off with a hometown album release show at the 1,000-capacity Fitzgerald Theater in St. Paul, Montana. Highlights of the tour include two nights in New York City, a performance AmericanaFest in Nashville, and stops in major cities across the country.

The album cover features artwork by one of Minnesota's most acclaimed painters, George Morrison. The piece, titles "Spirit Path. New Day. Red Rock Variation: Lake Superior Landscape," reflects the band's deep connection to their home state and the natural beauty that inspires their music. The artwork is part of the collection at the Minnesota Museum of American Art.

Tracklist for Every Time I Think About You

  1. Something’s Got A Hold On Me

  2. Go On

  3. Be What I Wanna

  4. Every Time I Think About You

  5. There She Goes

  6. Keep Walkin’

  7. Statues

  8. Is It Any Wonder

  9. Honey I’m Homeless

  10. Out Of My Mind (On Sunday)

Upcoming Tour Dates

Summer Dates:

  • Jul 05: Stoughton, WI - Stoughton Opera House

  • Jul 23: Rockford, IL - Anderson Gardens

  • Jul 24: Forest Park, IL - Roberts Westside

  • Jul 25: Springfield, IL - Live AMP Springfield

  • Jul 26: Mosinee, WI - Lamplight Sessions

  • Jul 27: Welch, MN - Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Fall Dates:

  • Sep 13: St. Paul, MN - Fitzgerald Theater

  • Sep 14: Superior, WI - Earth Rider Brewery

  • Sep 20: Nashville, TN - Americanafest

  • Sep 21: Atlanta, GA - The Earl *

  • Sep 22: Asheville, NC - The Grey Eagle *

  • Sep 24: Carrboro, NC - Cat's Cradle Back Room *

  • Sep 25: Washington D.C. - Songbyrd *

  • Sep 27: Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda’s *

  • Sep 28: New York, NY - The Mercury Lounge *

  • Sep 29: New York, NY - TV Eye *

  • Oct 02: Toronto, ON - Monarch Tavern *

  • Oct 03: Detroit, MI - Magic Bag *

  • Oct 04: Three Oaks, MI - The Acorn *

  • Oct 05: Chicago, IL - Schubas *

*with support from Erin Rae

Every Time I Think About You isn available for pre-order now. For more information on the album and tour dates, visit The Cactus Blossoms continue to captivate with their unique blend of heartfelt lyrics and timeless melodies, making this new album a must-listen for fans and newcomers alike.

Follow The Cactus Blossoms

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page