top of page

Take Offense Release New Album "T.O.tality" via MNRK Heavy

After nearly two decades of relentless dedication and growth, Chula Vista's Take Offense has reached new heights with the release of their fourth album, T.O.tality, available now via MNRK Heavy. This album marks a significant milestone for the band, showcasing their mastery of a crossover style that blends the hard-driving ethos of trash, the finesse of speed metal, and the fierce tenacity of hardcore, all while paying homage to their Southern California roots.

T.O.tality reflects the influence of Take Offense's California predecessors, such as EXCEL and Suicidal Tendencies. These bands heavily incorporate skate culture aesthetics and idolized guitar legends like Warren Di Martini and Eddie Van Halen. The new album is a heartfelt tribute to that era and scene, delivered through fourteen high-octane tracks that breakthrough genre conventions with fresh ideas. It's a nod to local heroes with a unique approach that remains undeniably Take Offense.

The recording process for T.O.tality was both arduous and rewarding. Initially starting in the summer of 2021, the band faced numerous scheduling conflicts and pandemic-related complications. Despite these challenges, tracking was completed in June 2023, with Nick Jett (Terror) and the band serving as producers, and Matt Hyde (Slayer, No Doubt, Deftones) handling the mixing. Nick Townsend took on the mastering duties. Guitarist Greg Cerwonka reflected on the process, saying, "We're incredibly proud of the record, and feel like it really represents who we are and where we're from. But it was really a strenuous one to make and at points, it felt like we might not get it done."

Watch Official Music Videos:

Frontman Anthony Herrera's lyrics on T.O.tality explore familiar themes from previous releases while delving deeper into his personal experiences and upbringing. The album tackles existentialism, politics, perseverance, and leaving regret behind. Herrera explains, "I feel like I didn't hold back on things I wanted to say. It’s even in the title of the record– totality. Certain tracks on the record have references to Mexica, which are beliefs that go back to early Mexico– something that I grew up with. When I was younger, I don’t think it was as easy for me to express certain things into words. I think things come easier now and I feel like I put it all out there. So I'm very proud to be at this point– I feel like we are stronger than ever, and with the new record we are the best version of who we are.”

Take Offense is set to promote T.O.tality with a series of live shows across North America and Europe. Their North American dates include stops in San Diego, San Francisco, Richmond, and New York City, among others. The band will also join Toxic Holocaust for a European tour this summer.

North American Live Dates:

  • May 10: San Diego, CA - Tower Bar (Album Listening Party)

  • May 17: San Diego, CA - Corazon

  • May 18: Oxnard, CA - CFF

  • May 19: San Francisco, CA - 924 Gilman

  • Jun 06: Richmond, VA - The Warehouse

  • Jun 07: York, PA - Skid Row Garage

  • Jun 08: Manchester, NH - Jewel Music Venue

  • Jun 09: Ridgewood, NY - TV Eye

European Live Dates (with Toxic Holocaust):

  • Jul 27: Tolmin, SI - Tolminator Festival

  • Jul 29: Novi Sad, RS - SKCNS Fabrika

  • Jul 30: Sofia, BG - OldSkulls Club

  • Jul 31: Rasnov, RO - Rockstadt Extreme Festival

  • Aug 01: Budapest, HU - Dürer Kert

  • Aug 02: Vienna, AT - Arena

  • Aug 03: Stuttgart, DE - Schwarzer Keiler

  • Aug 04: Leipzig, DE - Soltmann

  • Aug 05: Gdynia, PL - Ucho

  • Aug 06: Poznan, PL - 2 Progi

  • Aug 07: Krakow, PL - Zascianek

  • Aug 08: Bratislava, SK - Pink Whale

  • Aug 09: Jaromer, CZ - Brutal Assault

  • Aug 10: Berlin, DE - Reset

  • Aug 11: Siegen, DE - Vortex

  • Aug 13: Düdingen, CH - Bad Bonn

  • Aug 14: Dornbirn, AT - Conrad Sohm

  • Aug 15: Cologne, DE - Club Volta

photo credit: Becky DiGiglio

WithT.O.tality Take Offense has solidified their position as leaders in the crossover thrash scene, blending aggressive soundscapes with thoughtful lyricism. Don't miss the chance to experience their explosive live performances as they tour in support of this landmark album. For more information and to purchase tickets visit the links below!



bottom of page